The Gooseyard

Home » Writing » Upcoming Flash Fiction

Upcoming Flash Fiction

Poster: Chuck Wendig (terribleminds.com)

Poster: Chuck Wendig (terribleminds.com)

For all those of you I’ve lured here with the “Literary” reference in my “A (Mostly) Literary Blog” tagline, you’ll be pleased to know that I’ve decided to join this week’s Flash Fiction challenge over at Chuck Wendig’s Terrible Minds site (http://terribleminds.com/ramble/2013/03/01/flash-fiction-challenge-super-ultra-mega-game-of-aspects/). It’s a bit of a mash-up, but I suppose that’s the challenge, um, I mean, fun. I rolled the virtual dice and I’ll be writing a 2,000-word story using the following randomized parameters to guide me:

> Subgenre: Psychological Thriller

> Setting: The Zoo

> Conflict: Abduction

> Aspect to Include: A rare bird

> Theme: Chaos always trumps order

That last one, at least, is something I’ve had a bit of experience with!

I’ve got to upload my story by this Friday (March 8), so I’ll see you back here then.

Anyone want to join me in this arcane wordsmithing exercise? Let me know. And consider the gauntlet thrown…

2 Comments

  1. bronxboy55 says:

    Having to write a two-thousand-word story in five days is a psychological thriller in itself. But you can do it, Phil.

    (Just try to avoid adding to the psychological thrill by spending the first four days doing research.)

Leave a Reply

