The Gooseyard

Home » Writing » Me, bowing modestly from the waist…

Me, bowing modestly from the waist…

very-inspiring-award

Hats off to Nicole Oliver (“borednicole”) over at http://desireinspiration.wordpress.com who recently nominated me for a “Very Inspiring Blogger Award.”

I initially found my way to Nicole’s blog because she had been kind (discerning? — *insert winking emoticon here* ) enough to “Like” nearly all of my recent blogs. If you’re a blogger, especially a “newbie” blogger like I am, that’s like cocaine: the idea that there’s a person out there consistently giving you positive feedback on the stuff you write! And maybe even reading it. Dare to dream…

Nicole’s tagline is “A bored housewife’s quest for something…more.” The “more” part is about working through whatever life throws at her via the lens of her writing: “I’ve always believed there was a great story in me, but my passion and creativity have lain dormant for so long I may need the jaws of life to extract them. I’m hoping this blog will reawaken my soul.” Which, I suppose, is what the majority of us writing on-line are trying to do; frequently laying ourselves bare, post after post, here in the blogosphere.

But don’t let the “bored housewife” moniker mislead you. Nicole’s the “bored housewife” you’d meet in a “Dear Penthouse Forum” letter and her provocative blog entries are filled irony, wit, and no small amount of self-deprecating humour.

In any case, there are some guidelines to accepting this “Very Inspiring Blogger Award,” so let’s take care of those right now.

The Rules:

1. Display the logo on your blog. (Done)

2. Link back to the person who nominated you. (Done)

3. State seven things about yourself. (See below)

4. Nominate 15 other bloggers for the award. (See below)

5. Notify your nominees. (OK)

Seven things about me:

1. I’d rather be traveling in Europe.

2. I still listen to 80’s music.

3. I love storms and especially the feeling of being “snowed in” in the winter.

4. Favourite actor of all time: Cary Grant.

5. I think it’s already too late and we’ve completely screwed up the environment for our children and generations to come. Now what?

6. I prefer writing with a fountain pen.

7. I’m still struggling with trying to figure out if blogging is a useful exercise or just another another insidious way to waste my time navel gazing while “life” whizzes by.

Envelope, please. And the nominees for the next “Very Inspiring Blogger Award” are:

1. Tom Marshall: thomascmarshall.com

2. Charles Gulotta: mostlybrightideas.wordpress.com

3. Margaret MacQuarrie: wordperson.ca

4. Joe Warnimont: writewithwarnimont.com

5. Christian Mihai: cristianmihai.net

6. Chuck Wendig: terribleminds.com

7. Sam Harris: samharris.org

OK, so I failed miserably at this part of the award (i.e. nominating 15 additional bloggers for the award). I can’t help thinking that if I actually followed another 8 or 10 blogs, I’d have to quit my day job just to find the time! In fact, I probably failed at this exercise more miserably than it may initially appear given that, from nominee #4 onward, all the bloggers noted are well enough established already — with thousands of followers — that I won’t actually be forwarding them their nomination papers anyway.

Chuck Wendig and Sam Harris I’ve been following for a couple of years now and, in one form or another, are a continual source of inspiration. Joe Warnimont was an early “Follower” of my blog and has a great site of his own about writing. As does Christian Mihai who I just discovered this morning while trying to find enough websites to fill this list!

Tom Marshall, Charles Gulotta and Magaret MacQuarrrie are personal friends and fellow writers whose blogs I check on daily  to make sure I’m up to date with their latest posts.

Still, because I’m all about dotting the i’s and crossing the t’s in whatever I undertake, here’s what I’m going to do: I’m going to keep the remaining eight slots open and assign them piecemeal as I stumble across future sites of inspired bloggery. Sound like a plan?

Thanks again to borednicole for the nomination and I hope folks will take a few minutes to check out the blogs noted above. Drop me a line if you find one you like enough to add to your own favorites list.

1 Comment

  1. bronxboy55 says:

    Congratulations on the award, Phil. It will no doubt be the first of many. And thank you for the kind mention.

    I’d rather be traveling in Europe, too.

Leave a Reply

