The Gooseyard

Home » The Consolations of Nature » Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow…

Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow…

4293917697_52972b3952

Photo credit: …Weather the Weather via photopin (license)

I am sloth incarnate.

I sit alone in a wing chair in the corner of my living room. The seat is an old friend and knows my shape by memory. It has already gone noon, but I remain rooted here, as I have done since early this morning, still clad only in a housecoat and slippers.

Like an animated, picture-perfect Christmas card, the snow is falling gently outside the living room window opposite me. Shrouding the landscape, the bare branches and the evergreen sentinels that comprise my view, in the tenderest of soft, white embraces. Except for the sound of the furnace engaging every now and again, and the metronomic constancy of the dining room clock calling out the passage of the seconds to me from around the corner, all is peace. The placid, untrammelled presence of early winter in the countryside.

It is the final day of my two-week Christmas break. I had plans aplenty to fill this day (as well as those that preceded it). Useful and vigorous schemes to “get things done around the house,” given that that I was going to have some extended “down time.” Now, however, there is only the complacency of my arse on a soft cushion. A tall stack of partially-read books rests companionable beside me, amongst which I flit like a busy, inconstant bee, drawn from one pretty, intoxicating bloom to the next. There appear to be some promising new releases on Netflix, as well. And, within reach, there’s a fresh, steaming cup of coffee…

And a lingering unease that it’s all slipping away too quickly. That I’ve used up these days of light and freedom far too indiscriminately. But I also know I must let such unease pass me by with nary a hint of recognition. For only if I am truly committed to wasting this final day will it, in turn, capitulate and reward me by offering up access to the depths of the recumbent, tranquil treasures it has in store.

The snow continues to fall. My books await. Tomorrow, sitting on a very different chair, in front of a screen straining under the burden of an inescapable digital avalanche, this peace will be a dim, unlikely memory.

I am sloth… 

4 Comments

  1. Holly Hinds says:

    Dear Sloth…nice winter writing. I didn’t get dressed at all today as I planned to enjoy every minute of this last vacation day. I’ve now eaten my last Christmas treat and watching few more episodes of Corrie to catch up. It’s been a great week and a half. When the next vacation day? February?

    >

    • Philster999 says:

      I did have to actually get dressed to go get hamburger for supper at one point this afternoon, but have continued to goof off once that short sojourn was complete. Lost another full day last week to seven episodes in a row of Netflix’s new series, The Last Kingdom. If you haven’t seen this yet, don’t start tonight or you won’t get to bed at all!

  2. If that wasn’t one of the most perfect descriptions of heaven I’ve ever reads, I don’t know what is! What a completely ideal way to spend the last day of the holidays. I hope you remained slothful until the bitter end 🙂

Leave a Reply

